Competitive Busy-ness

Let's Try This "PhD" Thing

I am flying home to stay with my family.

Naturally, it coincides with a conference (that’s the life of an academic). I have decided to stay with my family from the end of the conference (late- November) until after Christmas. It was kind of annoying the way the dates worked out but I figured that I couldn’t pass off the opportunity to go home, and I will have lots of writing up to be doing, so being away from the lab shouldn’t affect my progress.

When I tell people I am going home for two months, in short: they don’t make me feel great about myself.

“Haha, alright for some!”

“How do you get away with it?”

“I didn’t take a holiday for 4 years when I was doing my PhD!”

They make me feel guilty. Which is ridiculous…I will still be working for the majority of time when I…

View original post 462 more words

Leave a Reply

